DUI Penalties in Bowling Green

Bowling Green DUI Defense Lawyer

Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol is one of the most common offenses that is committed by everyday people who have a lot to lose upon conviction. How would a DUI conviction affect your finances, your insurance, your job, and your family?

At Smith & Wilcutt, LLC, our Bowling Green DUI lawyers understand the predicament that you are in and we will fight hard to obtain a favorable outcome in your DUI case.

Why Smith & Wilcutt, LLC?

  • We have 20 years of experience.
  • We offer FREE case evaluations.
  • We practice in the state and federal courts.
  • Weekend appointments available upon request.

DUI Laws in Kentucky

In Kentucky, DUI/DWI means driving while under the influence of alcohol or any substance that impairs one's driving ability. Other substances range from illegal drugs to prescription drugs, to inhalants such as glue to over the counter medications.

Under K.R.S. 189A.010, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher.

First DUI Offense

  • $200-$500 fine
  • 48 hours to 30 days in jail
  • 90 day alcohol or substance abuse program
  • 30-120 day driver's license suspension
  • Possible 48 hours to 30 days of community labor
  • Additional court and administrative fees

Second Offense Within Five Years

  • $350-$500 fine
  • Between 7 days to 6 months in jail
  • One year alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • 12 to 18 month driver's license suspension
  • License plate impoundment or installation of ignition interlock device
  • 10 days to 6 months community labor
  • Additional court and administrative fees

Third Offense Within Five Years

  • $500-$1,000 fine
  • 30 days to 12 months in jail
  • One year alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • 24 to 36 month driver's license suspension
  • License plate impoundment or installation of ignition interlock device
  • 10 days to 12 months of community labor
  • Additional court and administrative fees

Fourth or Subsequent Offense Within Five Years

  • One to five years in jail
  • One year alcohol or substance abuse treatment
  • Five-year driver's license revocation
  • License plate impoundment or installation of ignition interlock device
  • Additional court and administrative fees

Aggravating circumstances (KRS 189A.010) establish minimum jail times:

  • Over 30 mph above the speed limit
  • Wrong way on a limited access highway
  • Causes an accident that results in serious bodily injury or death
  • BAC of .15% or more within 2 hours of operating
  • Refusal to submit to a chemical test
  • Child passenger under 12 years of age

License Suspension for Chemical Test Refusals

If you refuse to submit to a chemical test in the form of a blood, breath or urine test, you face the following automatic driver's license suspensions. Please note that all suspensions below are for refusals within a five year period.

  • First offense: 30 to 120 days
  • Second offense: 12 to 18 months
  • Third offense: 24 to 36 months
  • Fourth or subsequent offense: 60 months

Schedule a Free Case Evaluation

Arrested for DUI? Don't give up the fight, there are ways to win! Contact our office as soon as possible to schedule a free case evaluation with a qualified DUI criminal defense attorney. Since DUI cases can be fought and won, you want to do everything you can to reduce if not eliminate the consequences associated with a DUI arrest and conviction.

Want to fight your DUI charges? Call today to get started – we look forward to defending you!

Contact Smith & Wilcutt, LLC Today

We Will Go The Extra Mile In Order To Meet & Exceed Your Expectations

Send My Information